Return to All News

17th Annual Communication Awards Ceremony Recognizes Excellence of Atlantic Cape Students

05/10/2024 | Media Contact: David Zuba, Public Relations Manager and Copywriter | (609) 343-4933
Student Shayne Crowley, Professor Keith Forrest and student Katherine Jaques

MAYS LANDING — Atlantic Cape Community College’s 17th Annual Communication Awards ceremony was a groovy affair as this year’s best student communications prowess was recognized in the Walter E. Edge Theater on the Mays Landing campus on April 26.

Communication Major of the Year Ruby Taylor and runner up Sandy BolloThe event featured the presenting of more than 100 awards to recipients for their excellence in more than 40 categories, including journalism, public relations, public speaking, performing arts, film and television.  Individual students, alumni, faculty and media professionals were among the evening’s award recipients.

The show also revealed the “Six Greatest Films” as chosen by Atlantic Cape students, faculty, staff and alumni in a video and performance. Student-produced videos and performances were shown by four “Communication Major of the Year” nominees: Evan Troxel of Marmora, Ruby Taylor of North Wildwood, Brooklyn Fennen of Egg Harbor Township and Sandy Bollo of Egg Harbor Township.

Alumni hosts Laura DeBlois, Chloe Cramutola, Kayla Corson and Dylan RyersonFour Communication alumni, Laura De Blois ’19, Kayla Corson ’22, Chloe Cramutola ’23 and Dylan Ryerson ‘23, shared the duties of announcing and presenting awards.

The following are this year’s award recipients:

Communication Major of the Year: Ruby Taylor

Communication Major of the Year Runner Up: Sandy Bollo

Public Relations and Honors Awards

Best P.R. Group: Shayne Crowley, Katherine Jaques, Brianna Lassiter, and Caleb Steinman

Best Crisis Communicator: Marissa Baughman

Best PR Practitioner: Shayne Crowley

Best Press Release: Katherine Jaques

Best Honors Project: Dylan Caraballo, Troy Deman, Rachel Corson, Raymond Jacob, Carmyn Cella, Brianna Lassiter, Enin Taggart, Parker Barbey, Kieralyn Edmunds and Evan Troxel

Theater and Mass Media Awards

Best Dramatic Monologue: Charlize Roldan

Most Improved Actor: Alejandro Delgado Garcia

Best Comedic Scene: Charlize Roldan, Ariel McIntosh-Ward, Kay Rivera and Angela Ebert

Best Mass Media Achievement: Natalie Napoli

Best Mass Media Paper: Natalie Napoli and Sandy Bollo

Best Mass Media Project: Zoey Allegretto, Sandra Bollo, Natalie Napoli, Kylee Walker and Carmyn Cella

Radio Club: Shaman Kupper

Media Production Club: Navin Patterson

Theater Arts Guild: Patrick Baross

Pop Music and Film Awards

Communication Awards Club: Evan Troxel

Best Pop Music Project: Chloe Cramutola, Dylan Ryerson, Elijah Redmond and Kyla Soria

Best Pop Music Paper: Chloe Cramutola

Pop Music Achievement: Chloe Cramutola

Best Film History Paper: Brooklyn Fennen

Film History Achievement: Melissa Matias

Gerri Black Creative Writing Awards

Best Creative Writing: Tammy Stettler, Shayne Crowley and Clarabella Couch

Best Fiction: Ciara Zwicker

Best Poetry: Israel Reyes, Brianna Lassiter and Christopher Caracci

Best Creative Nonfiction: Antonio Fiorentino

Rewrites: Shayne Crowley

Interpersonal Communication and Journalism Awards

Journalism Achievement: Shayne Crowley

Atlantic Cape Review: Dan Luna

Best Interpersonal Achievement: Brittany Seyler, Lauren Sacco and Priya Momi

Public Speaking Awards

Best Informative Speech: Iuliia Lvova, Mario Victoria, Abigail Tomasso, Angelica Greenwald-Testa and Zachary Walker

Best Persuasive Speech: Mason Michot, Daniel Mulraney, Alivia Yarbrough, Angelina Doria, Morgan Kenny and E.M. Mcintyre

Alumni of the Year

Jessica Schachner, ’16, 2024 Alumni of the Year

Faculty Pioneer Award

Rachel Vogel, Wildwood High School

Mentoring and Student Pioneer Awards

Mentoring: Alexis Cabrera, Haram Shahid, Bobby Prince, Brianna Lassiter, Chloe Cramutola, Julie Gayle, Katherine Jaques, Laura DeBlois, Mason Michot, Ruby Taylor and Sebastian Bechard

Senior Mentors: Kayla Corson, Olivia Matthews and Dylan Ryerson

Student Pioneers: Ruby Taylor, Olivia Matthews, Shayne Cowley and Katherine Jaques

Julianne Scott Volunteer Service Award: Katherine Jaques

Outstanding Academic Achievement: Nayeli Lopez

Visit the Communication Awards Club on Campus Groups (sign in required) at



About Atlantic Cape Community College

Atlantic Cape Community College is a Middle States accredited, 2022 Achieving the Dream Leader College and Hispanic Serving Institution proudly serving the residents of Atlantic and Cape May counties. As a comprehensive, two-year community college, Atlantic Cape offers 47 undergraduate degree programs, and 33 certificate and professional series programs at its Mays Landing, Atlantic City and Cape May campuses. Atlantic Cape is home to the renowned Academy of Culinary Arts, rated the top culinary school in New Jersey, and for more than 50 years, our highly-acclaimed Nursing program. Atlantic Cape also partners with more than 30 colleges and four-year universities to offer students the opportunity to seamlessly earn a bachelor’s degree upon graduation.