Return to All News

Atlantic Cape 2020 President’s Distinguished Alumni Recipients Selected

05/01/2020 | Media Contact: Erin Mercer | (609) 343-4923
2020 Distinguished Alumni Award

Atlantic Cape Community College 2020 President’s Distinguished Alumni Recipients Selected

MAYS LANDING –The Atlantic Cape Community College Foundation selected four recipients for the 2020 President’s Distinguished Alumni Award.  Recipients of the award are typically honored during a celebratory awards dinner however; this year’s event was canceled due to the COVID-19 outbreak.  The recipients will be honored at the 2020 Commencement ceremony to be held at a later date this year.  They will also receive a personalized award medallion and certificate of achievement.

Established in 2010, the President’s Distinguished Alumni Award has been presented annually to graduates of Atlantic Cape that have differentiated themselves through professional, public, and community-based accomplishments, with a key focus on honoring graduates that continue to maintain a connection to the college. The 2020 honorees truly represent Atlantic Cape’s mission and serve as exemplary role models for our current and future students.

This year, the Atlantic Cape Alumni Association Advisory Committee selected two graduates to represent the overall Distinguished Alumni Award category, open to all alumni, and two graduates for the Young Alumni Achievement Award, open to alumni 40 years of age and younger. The 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients are: Mayor Beth Holtzman ’82 of Ventnor and Dennis Kelly ’78 of Bath, PA.  The 2020 Young Alumni Achievement Award recipients are: Richard Russell ’99 of Ocean City and Kyle Schachner ’16 of Collingswood.

Past recipients include: 2019, Chad Affrunti, ’05, of Atco, NJ; Felix Contreras-Castro, ’14 of Galloway, NJ; Nathan Evans, Jr., ’15 of Mays Landing; Freeholder E. Marie Hayes, ’79 of Ocean City, NJ; James Hennessey, ’00 of Egg Harbor Township, NJ; Bert Lopez, ’81 of Atlantic City, NJ; Toshira Maldonado-McIntosh, ’08 of Mays Landing, NJ. and Deputy Chief James Sarkos, ’96 of Linwood, NJ; 2018, Raymond Davis, ’92 of Egg Harbor Township; and Maria Mento, ’77 of Ventnor; 2017, Dr. Robert L. Vogel, ’68 of Savannah, Georgia; Dr. Brian Kirchner, ’78 of Absecon; MaryAnne Figueroa, ’68 of Hammonton; Chef Joseph Sheridan, ’96 of Somers Point; Dr. Carole Dieterly, ’08 of Breinigsville, Pennsylvania; and Kimberly Richardson, ’10 of Mays Landing, 2016, Gloryvie Reyes, ’01 of Sicklerville; and Terri Lu Schieder, ’79 of Somers Point, 2015, Stephen Dunn, ’68 of Atlantic City, 2014, Thomas Innocente, ’71 of Somers Point; 2013, Dr. Valerie Travis-Reese, ’82 of Camden; 2012, Katherine Morris, Esq., ’90 of Galloway; 2011, Michael Rann, Esq., ‘88 of Linwood; 2010, Janice DeCicco Fipp, ’70 of Northfield.

For more information about the Atlantic Cape Alumni Association, how to join, and engagement opportunities for alumni, contact Kristin Jackson at or (609) 463-3621.